HEUG Spotlight - North Dakota University System

The North Dakota University System is a unified system of higher education governed by the State Board of Higher Education. Through NDSU's investment in technology, students are able to attend classes from wherever they are and choose course schedules that work for their busy lives, expanding access to North Dakota public higher education farther than ever before. Organized in 1990, the system includes:

2 Research Universities:

  • North Dakota State University
  • University of North Dakota

4 Regional Universities:

  • Dickinson State University
  • Mayville State University
  • Minot State University
  • Valley City State University

5 Community Colleges:

  • Bismarck State College
  • Dakota College at Bottineau
  • Lake Region State College
  • North Dakota State College of Science
  • Williston State College

Led by the chancellor, the NDUS staff supports the State Board of Higher Education's mission to enhance the quality of life for all those served by the NDUS as well as the economic and social vitality of North Dakota.

Meeting the need for a trained and educated workforce is just one of the many essential functions of the NDUS’s unique 11 institutions.  Research and service to community are also vitally important. 

As the System and its people (47,000+ students served by 7,500+ faculty and staff) head into the second half of this decade, they’ve come together around four primary goals:
Deliver degrees that are the best value in the nation

  • Provide programs people want, where and when they need them
  • Equip students for success
  • Maximize the strengths of the unified system

If you wish to learn more about North Dakota University System click here.

Interested in nominating your institution for a spotlight? Please send us a little blurb about your University, some of your favorite places on campus and a picture to Brittany Moon (bmoon@heug.org). We look forward to learning more about your campus!

1 Like
Recent Stories
HEUG Campus Spotlight - Los Rios Community College District

HEUG Spotlight - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

HEUG Spotlight - MiraCosta College