Board of Directors

About the HEUG Board of Directors

The HEUG is governed by a Board of Directors. The Board consists of fifteen Directors elected by the HEUG membership, one to five Directors appointed by the HEUG President with the approval of the Board, and the Past President. Elected Directors serve for a term of three years and may serve no more than two consecutive terms. Appointed Directors serve for a term of one year and may be reappointed. The Alliance Conference Chair and Program Chair are usually among the appointed Directors, if not currently serving as elected Directors.

The President of the HEUG is elected by the Board of Directors for a one-year term, and may serve at most two terms as President. The remaining Officers of the Board are nominated by the President and approved by the Board, and consist of the following:

  • Vice President for Communications and Membership
  • Vice President for Community Development
  • Vice President for Products
  • Vice President for Technology
  • Secretary
  • Vice President Finance/Treasurer

The President also designates one of the four Vice Presidents to serve as the Executive Vice President, who will complete the President’s term if the President is unable to and will preside over meetings in the President’s absence.

The Board is responsible for overseeing and approving nominations of members to the various Product Advisory Groups (PAGs) and the Technical Advisory Group (TAG). Those groups are responsible for working with the HEUG membership and Oracle on issues relevant to the appropriate areas within specific products or the technological infrastructure. Those groups do much of the detailed work of the HEUG and are instrumental to the HEUG’s effectiveness. Each PAG is assigned a Board member as a liaison.

The Board also establishes a number of committees and working groups to assist in the governance and administration of the HEUG, and to address specific issues that do not fall within the purview of a particular PAG or TAG. These committees usually include a mixture of Board members and others.

As Oracle continues to expand its product line via acquisitions and development, and as the community of Higher Education users of Oracle application software expands and evolves, the Board continues to review the scope of the HEUG and to propose changes in structure and governance that reflect the changing nature of the products and the organization. 

The Current Higher Education User Group Directors

Mario Berry

Lone Star College
2015-2017, 2012-2015
Show Bio

Past President
Steve Hahn

University of Wisconsin - Madison
2015-2017, President 2013-2015, 2010-2013
Show Bio

Jane Broad

University of Glasgow
2014-2017, 2011-2014
Show Bio

Vice President of Product
Buddy Combs

Kentucky Comm. & Tech. College Sys
2016-2019 (Appointed 2014- 2016)
Show Bio

Vice President of Membership & Communications
Brad Finley

Illinois Central College
Show Bio

Vice President of Administration
Criss Laidlaw

Williams College
2014-2017, 2011-2014
Show Bio

Vice President of Community Development
Jason Wenrick

Sonoma State University
Show Bio

Maureen Knight-Burrell

Northwestern University
2016-2019, 2013-2016, Appointed 2011-2013
Show Bio

Vice President of Technology
Terence Houser

University of Virginia
Show Bio

Vice President of Finance/Treasurer
Dan Youngblood

Indiana University
Appointed 2014-2017
Show Bio

Alliance 2017 Conference Chair
Jane Baratta

Western University
Alliance Conference Chair 2016-2017
Show Bio

Board Member - Asia HEUG Rep
Jaime Caro

University of the Philippines
Show Bio

Board Member - ANZ Rep
Mark Erickson

University of Queensland
Show Bio

Board Member - EMEA Rep
Barry Hudson

University of Pretoria
Show Bio

4 Year & Above Representative
Gayle King

University of Houston System
Show Bio

Latin America Representative - Appointed
Marco Paludo

Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná
Show Bio

2 Year & Technical College Representative
Nanci Regehr

Maricopa Community College District
Show Bio

Young Professional Group Representative
Samuel Shunk

University of Miami
Appointed 2016-2017
Show Bio

EBS Representative
Lisa Skinner

Stanford University
Show Bio

Alliance 2017 Program Chair
Cathy Thompson

University of Florida
Show Bio

Board Member - EBS Rep
Cyndie Winrow

San Diego State University
Appointed 2014-2017
Show Bio

Past Conference Chair
Michele Thibodeau

Butler University
Alliance Conference Chair 2015-2016, Alliance Program Chair 2014-2015
Show Bio

Board Member
Scott Munson

University of Colorado
Appointed 2016,-2017, 2015-2016
Show Bio

Assistant Treasurer
Deborah Mero

University of Michigan
Appointed 2016-2017, Appointed 2015-2016, Appointed 2014-2015, 2011-2014, 2008-2011
Show Bio

2 Year & Technical College Representative
Michael Russell

Virginia Community College System
Show Bio

E-Business Suites Representative
Michelle Lin

California Institute of Technology
Show Bio

Executive Director
Lew Conner

Higher Education User Group

Show Bio

HEUG Update

Town Hall Meeting 8.17.16

Online video presentations, are possible due to the support of our online vendor partners. Special thanks to our platinum partners:

Higher Logic Ciber Sierra-Cedar OnBase by Hyland Smart ERP Solutions, Inc. GreyHeller, LLC Fischer International Identity HighPoint Technology Solutions, Inc.
SkyBridge Global